The term “Big Five” originally referred to the five most difficult animals in Africa to hunt on foot, but it has since been adopted by safari tour operators and wildlife enthusiasts to describe the five most iconic and sought-after animals to see in the wild. In Tanzania, home to some of the world’s most famous national parks and game reserves, the Big Five are a major draw for tourists from around the globe. These five animals are the lion, leopard, rhinoceros, elephant, and Cape buffalo. Each of these species plays a crucial role in the ecosystem and has unique characteristics and behaviors that make them fascinating to observe. Let’s delve into a detailed exploration of these magnificent creatures, their habitats, behaviours, and the conservation efforts surrounding them in Tanzania. You can encounter these animals on a self guided tour in Tanzania.

  1. African Elephant
  • Description: African elephants are the largest land mammals on Earth, characterized by their long trunks, large ears, and tusks (in both males and some females).
  • Habitat: Elephants inhabit a variety of habitats, including savannahs, forests, and marshes. In Tanzania, they are commonly found in national parks such as Serengeti, Tarangire, and Selous.
  • Behaviour: These social animals live in matriarchal herds led by a dominant female. They are known for their intelligence, complex communication, and close family bonds.
  • Conservation Status: African elephants are classified as vulnerable due to threats such as poaching for ivory and habitat loss.
  1. African Lion
  • Description: Lions are large carnivorous cats with golden coats and impressive manes (in males). They are known for their strength, agility, and iconic roars.
  • Habitat: Lions inhabit grasslands, savannahs, and open woodlands, where they hunt large herbivores such as zebras and wildebeests. Tanzania’s Serengeti National Park is famous for its lion populations.
  • Behavior: Lions are social cats that live in prides, consisting of related females, their offspring, and a coalition of males. They are apex predators, playing a crucial role in maintaining ecosystem balance.
  • Conservation Status: African lions are classified as vulnerable due to habitat loss, human-wildlife conflict, and poaching.
  1. African Leopard
  • Description: Leopards are sleek and elusive cats with golden coats adorned with distinctive rosette patterns. They are agile climbers and powerful hunters.
  • Habitat: Leopards are adaptable and can thrive in various habitats, including forests, savannahs, and mountains. In Tanzania, they are commonly found in national parks like Serengeti and Ruaha.
  • Behavior: Leopards are solitary and nocturnal hunters, relying on stealth and camouflage to ambush their prey. They are known for dragging their kills into trees for safekeeping.
  • Conservation Status: African leopards are classified as vulnerable due to habitat loss, poaching for their skins, and conflict with humans.
  1. African Buffalo
  • Description: African buffalo are large, robust bovines with distinctive horns that form a fused boss on their heads. They have dark coats and are known for their formidable appearance.
  • Habitat: Buffaloes inhabit grasslands, savannahs, and woodlands, often congregating near water sources. They are found in various Tanzanian national parks, including Serengeti, Tarangire, and Selous.
  • Behavior: Buffaloes are highly social animals that form large herds, particularly during the dry season. They are known for their aggressive behavior, especially when threatened by predators.
  • Conservation Status: African buffaloes are classified as least concern, although localized declines occur due to habitat loss and diseases such as bovine tuberculosis and corridor.
  1. Rhinoceros
  • Description: Rhinoceroses are large herbivorous mammals characterized by their thick skin, barrel-shaped bodies, and either one (in white rhinos) or two (in black rhinos) horns on their noses.
  • Habitat: Rhinos inhabit grasslands, savannahs, and shrublands. Historically, both black and white rhinos were found in Tanzania, but populations have declined significantly due to poaching and habitat loss.
  • Behaviour: Rhinos are solitary animals, except during mating or when females have young. They are herbivores, feeding primarily on grasses and browsing on shrubs and trees.
  • Conservation Status: Both the black rhinoceros and white rhinoceros are critically endangered due to poaching for their horns, which are highly valued in traditional medicine and illegal wildlife trade.


The Big Five in Tanzania’s national parks represent not only the diversity and richness of the country’s wildlife but also the complex interplay of ecological, economic, and social factors that influence conservation efforts. Protecting these iconic animals requires a multifaceted approach that addresses the root causes of threats while promoting sustainable use of natural resources. Tanzania’s commitment to preserving its natural heritage ensures that future generations will continue to experience the awe-inspiring beauty and majesty of the Big Five in the wild.

Previous articleWhere to See Gorillas: Bwindi Vs Volcanoes Park Rwanda


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here